AAUW NC Membership Team Report

Prepared for Convention, April 20-22, 2007

Actvities of the MVP and Membership Committee since the October 2006 Leadership Meeting:

- Participated in the NC Conference for Women in Charlotte in October 2006 (Full report available in Spring 2007 edition of *Tar Heel News*)—Barbara, Queen, Sheila, and several others
- Developing plans for participation in 2007 NC Conference for Women
- Collected AAUW NC Membership Diversity Score Cards and Mission with a Purpose Branch Surveys from branches; compiled data which will be available during and after State Convention
- State President and MVP met with Franklin County Branch to discuss alternatives for membership following branch disbandment
- MVP attended branch events of Wilmington, Raleigh/Wake, and Chapel Hill Branches (Charlotte Branch scheduled for April)
- MVP attended AAUW NC Juvenile Literature Award Presentation in Raleigh
- Worked with AAUW NC Executive Committee to discuss possible formation of branch without borders to absorb interested MALs and members of disbanded branches (Possible name: Long Leaf Pines Branch)
- Worked with AAUW NC Executive Committee to discuss alternate forms of branch governance for leaner, more efficient operations
- Currently collecting Branch Recognition Forms from branches (due May 15)
- Continued periodic communication with branch membership vice presidents via email
- The Nominating Committee contacted many members to come up with a slate of Officers for 2007-08. The following members consented to run: Millie Hoffler-Foushee, President-Elect; Mary Fran Schickedantz, Treasurer; and Etta Alston and Lou Dean Howard, Program Co-Vice Presidents. Members of the committee were Pat Abell, Connie Ochse, Gelene Lineberger, Elizabeth Laney, and Etta Alston.
- Planned recognition for branches with 5% or more growth during 2007 State Convention
- College/University chair contacted all the representatives of College/University partner institutions in the state and a workshop focused on C/U issues is planned for the 2007 State Convention.